Ads Area

Banks to Remain Shut in these days in this December- Full List

Banks in India will remain closed for 12 days in the month of December including second Saturdays and Sundays. However, all banks will not remain shut for 12 days this month. Some of the leaves are region-specific.  

There is one day

on which banks across the country will be shut, and that is Christmas on December 25 (Saturday). There are a few state-specific holidays as well. Added to this, banks across the country will be shut on second and fourth Saturdays and on Sundays in December.

On this note, let’s take a look at the list of holidays when banks will be closed during the month of December, so that you can make a schedule accordingly.

Here is the full list of holidays for the month of December 2021, as per RBI mandate: (Counting from December 1 onwards)

List of Leaves as per the Holiday Under Negotiable Instruments Act

December 3: Feast of St. Francis Xavier — Goa

December 18: Death Anniversary of U SoSo Tham — Shillong

December 24: Christmas Festival (Christmas Eve) — Aizawl, Shillong

December 25: Christmas — Guwahati, Hyderabad, Imphal, Jaipur, Jammu, Kanpur, Kochi, Kolkata, Lucknow, Mumbai, Nagpur, New Delhi, Panaji, Patna, Raipur, Ranchi, Shillong, Shimla, Srinagar, Thiruvananthapuram

December 27: Christmas Celebration — Aizawl

December 30: U Kiang Nangbah — Shillong

December 31: New Year’s Eve — Aizawl

Apart from the varying state-wise holidays. The banks will remain closed on some of the days of the weekends. It must be noted in this regard that weekend leaves are uniform in nature across India. These are mentioned below:

December 5: Sunday

December 11: Second Saturday of the month

December 12: Sunday

December 19: Sunday

December 25: Fourth Saturday of the month and Christmas

December 26: Sunday

Worth mentioning here is that despite the above-mentioned holidays, customers are unlikely to be affected as most of the banking services except for cash deposit, check deposit, demand draft can be availed using online banking services. Online fund transfer using IMPS and RTGC will also work on the 30 days of the month. 

Reserve Bank of India (RBI) categorizes bank holidays under three categories — Holiday under Negotiable Instruments Act; Holiday under Negotiable Instruments Act and Real-Time Gross Settlement Holiday; and Banks’ Closing of Accounts.


Post a Comment

* Please Don't Spam Here. All the Comments are Reviewed by Admin.

Top Post Ad

Below Post Ad

Ads Area