Ads Area

Five key things about India’s first 20 rupee coin

Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Thursday, March 7, 2019, released the first-ever Rs 20 coin which, specially designed for virtually impaired people. The all-new Rs 20 coin, to be issued for the first time in India, will be out there for circulation in accordance with the Reserve Bank of India (RBI) Act. Apart from new Rs 20 coin, the government had unveiled a new series of visually impaired-friendly coins of denominations Re 1, Rs 2, Rs 5 and Rs 10.

The circulation new series coins with various differentiating features, will greatly aid the visually impaired and will facilitate the visually impaired, and will instal them with confidence, PM Modi said while releasing the new coins at an event held at 7, Lok Kalyan Marg, New Delhi on March 7, 2019.

5 key things about India’s first Rs 20 coin 
  • The new 20 rupee coin isn’t in a circular shape unless every other new series of coins released today. New Rs 20 coin is in polygon shape of 12 edges with a design of grains denoting the agricultural dominance of the country.
  • The outer ring the new 20 rupee coin is made up of nickel silver and the central piece is made of nickel brass. The outside diameter of the new Rs 20 coin is 2.7 centimetres and the weight of the new Rs 20 coin is about 8.54 grams.
  • The ‘Lion Capital of Ashoka Pillar’ is minted on the face of new 20 rupee coin with ‘Satyamev Jayate’ inscribed below it and, while, the denomination value of 20 is minted in international numerals along with the Indian Rupee symbol on the reverse side of the new 20 rupee coin. 
  • ‘Bharat’ in Hindi and ‘India’ in English is minted on the left and right periphery on the face of new Rs 20 coin and the year of minting is inscribed on the centre of left periphery of the new 20 rupee coin in international numerals, such as ‘2019’.
  • All the new series of coins including the new Rs 20 coin have been minted at state-run mints of India namely, Noida (U.P.), Mumbai (Maharashtra), Alipore (Kolkata), Saifabad and Cherlapally (Hyderabad) and the exact dates of the issuance of new series coins of Re 1, Rs 2, Rs 5, Rs 10 and Rs 20, for circulation is yet to be decided. 

Post a Comment

* Please Don't Spam Here. All the Comments are Reviewed by Admin.

Top Post Ad

Below Post Ad

Ads Area