WhatsApp disappearing messages will self-destruct after 7 days


WhatsApp has announced a highly awaited feature that will allow you to send messages that disappear after seven days. Called ‘Disappearing Messages’, this feature has been in-the-works for a while now. The feature will be rolling out to users everywhere through this month and you can expect to receive it in coming days.  


“Private conversations that once were only possible face-to-face can now take place across great distances through instant chats and video calling. Today everything lives forever, and generally that is okay! However, in-person conversations do not last forever, and not everything on WhatsApp needs to either,” WhatsApp said in a statement.


“So today, we’re introducing ‘Disappearing Messages’ on WhatsApp. When conversations aren’t permanent, people can speak more freely and feel more comfortable being their authentic selves whether that be their wacky side or being more honest about their feelings,” it added. 


The instant messaging platform added that when disappearing messages is turned on, new messages sent to a chat will disappear after 7 days, helping the conversation feel lighter and more private. In a one-to-one chat, either person can turn disappearing messages on or off. In groups, admins will have the control. 


“We’re starting with 7 days because we think it offers peace of mind that conversations aren’t permanent, while remaining practical so you don’t forget what you were chatting about. The shopping list or store address you received a few days ago will be there while you need it, and then disappear after you don’t,” it added. 


All you need to know WhatsApp Disappearing Messages 


  • If a user doesn’t open WhatsApp in the seven day period, the message will disappear. However, the preview of the message might still be displayed in notifications until WhatsApp is opened. 
  • When you reply to a message, the initial message is quoted. If you reply to a disappearing message, the quoted text might remain in the chat after seven days. 
  • If a disappearing message is forwarded to a chat with disappearing messages off, the message won’t disappear in the forwarded chat. 
  • If a user creates a backup before a message disappears, the disappearing message will be included in the backup. Disappearing messages will be deleted when a user restores from a backup. 


Note:
Only use disappearing messages with trusted individuals. For example, it's possible for someone to: 

  1. Forward or take a screenshot of a disappearing message and save it before it disappears. 
  2. Copy and save content from the disappearing message before it disappears. 
  3. Take a photo of a disappearing message with a camera or other device before it disappears. 

Post a comment

Post a Comment (0)

Previous Post Next Post