Wednesday, 22 August 2018

Gmail's Android app now lets you undo sending an email

Search giant Google has launched a new feature in its emailing platform Gmail and it could be said one of the biggest update all the way. You can send or unsend messages from a browser or the Gmail app.


The latest feature is Undo Send - the ability
to recall an email after tapping send button. This feature was a fresh welcome for those that managed to send erroneous mails, and previously had no way to recall whatsoever.

The feature was first spotted by Android Police, and it seems to have arrived with version 8.7 for Android users. It works in a similar manner like its desktop variant, but there is no functionality to manually set the time slot for cancellation, or even disable it. Once you send a message, a snackbar at the bottom shows you a 'sending' message with the option to cancel it while it's sending. Once it's sent, Gmail then shows the 'sent' message with a new option to 'undo' it as well. This is showing up for all users on Gmail version 8.7, and if you can't see this feature, head to the Play Store and see if there is a pending update.

'Undo Send' was in Gmail Labs for many years since it was introduced in March 2009. It finally arrived on the Web in 2015, and has finally made its way to Android now. Another feature that Gmail recently introduced on mobile was Confidential Mode, which essentially allows user to send emails to others that will self-destruct after a point of time.

Recall a message using Undo Send :-
  • Right after you send a message, you'll see the message "Sent" and the option to Undo.
  • Tap Undo.

No comments:

Post a Comment